RSS Feed

Make Your Own Card Topper

Good afternoon, after a busy morning catching up on cleaning I thought I bring you a little afternoon tutorial. Unfortunately I didn’t get chance to video because I was so obsessed with my new camera and trying to improve the photography on my blog. I was inspired to do a sewing themed card topper today because of yesterday’s not so pretty sewing post. So here we go!
I used a mannequin with dress stamp from a crafts beautiful magazine set that I got last year. If anyone wants to know which issue its from I’ll have to dig it out of my rather large collection but please just ask.

I stamped this using Memento tuxedo black ink which is safe to use with your Pro markers on around 300gsm card stock in snow white.

20130112-154216.jpg
Once dry, which is very quickly you can get on with colouring. Start with your light colours and fill the large areas and then fill the edge with darker & blend again with light this will create depth.

20130112-154502.jpg
You can cut out the image to the black line and this will instantly make it look like a shop bought topper or colour the background of the image if this will work on your project and just cut with a even border.

20130112-155016.jpg
To finish off my topper I added glossy accents to the bow of the dress which is my first experiment with this product. But it should give the bow a raised shinny finish which I thought would be nice hope I was right.

20130112-160151.jpg
Hope you’ve enjoyed today’s post and I’ll be back tomorrow, see you then 🙂

Leave a Reply

